We shall overcome someday…!” Do you remember what you were doing when Barack Obama officially became the President of the United States? I remember when this revolution was being televised, I was on the phone with my father who was shedding tears of joy. I remember how proud he was in the moment and how grateful he was to witness such acceptance and change that had taken place. I was overjoyed as well.

When I returned to school, my students were filled with excitement. Their parents/grandparents  had obviously talked to them about the significance of having an African American president. They were eager to share what they had learned. It seemed that overnight, they developed empathy for people of other races and in their own way, they understood that the world was moving toward greatness.

I am a teacher who never fails to incorporate some form of art into every lesson. For this task, students worked in collaborative groups of 3 and 4. The objective was to find out as much as they could about our 1st Black President of the United States. They utilized technology to research/print pictures of Barack Obama, his family, and great moments during his life and campaign. They developed small tidbits about what being black meant to them at this very time.

My students now believe that anything is possible to achieve, especially for minorities.  To be president of any nation is a great success in itself.

On this day, they held their heads high and they knew that if “he can, then YES WE CAN!”

